Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 28 of 28

Thread: Syntax for referencing another column in the table

  1. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    657
    Thanks I'll keep eye on the formitem entry in the docs.

    I looked at the UI (app inspector) and tried to use the names in there, as one word such as userselectablesearch

    But that did not seem to work.

  2. #22
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    7,165
    Blog Entries
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by avianmanagement View Post
    Thanks I'll keep eye on the formitem entry in the docs.

    I looked at the UI (app inspector) and tried to use the names in there, as one word such as userselectablesearch

    But that did not seem to work.
    It is "userselectablesearchfield"

    As you know, formitems consist of fields and gadgets.

    Fields have a "Caption" and "Data".

    Other attributes relating to search fields are:

    Code:
    searchfield as logical
    
    searchpanelfield as logical
    
    defaultsearchfieldorder as logical
    
    hidesearchkeyindicator as logical

    Other useful related to captions:

    Code:
    caption as character
    
    captionicon as character // e.g "lib:/icons/name.png"
    
    captionborderwidth as numeric
    
    captionbordercolor as character // colors can be #xxxxxx or a known color name such as green,lightgreen etc
    
    captionalignment as character // "Topleft,TopCenter,TopRight,Center,LeftCenter,RightCenter,BottomLeft,BottomCenter,BottomRight"
    
    labelsize as character // "Small,Medium,Large,X-large,xx-large,largest,Huge,Auto"
    
    labeltype as character // "Beside,Above"
    
    captioncssstyle as character // recognizes bootstrap class names as well as standard CSS
    

    Other useful attributes related to data:

    Code:
    controlsource as character // "table.column" or "expression"
    Code:
    defaultvalue as character //"expression"
    
    inputmask as character
    
    password as logical
    
    mandatory as logical
    
    mandatorybackcolor as character
    
    validation as character
    
    validationerrormessage as character
    
    choicelist as character
    
    autosuggest as character
    
    autosuggestheaders as character
    
    autosuggestcolumn as numeric
    
    placeholdertext as character
    
    readonly as logical
    
    editable as logical
    
    relateonchange as logical
    
    refreshcalculatedonchange as logical
    
    datasize as character // "Small,Medium,Large,X-large,xx-large,largest,Huge,Auto"
    
    data alignment as character // "left,center,right"
    
    tooltiptext as character
     
    datacssstyle as character // recognizes bootstrap class names as well as standard CSS
    Other misc:

    Code:
    showdata as logical
    
    hidecaptionatruntime as logical
    
    returntabs as logical
    
    dialogbutton as logical
    
    contextmenu as character
    
    metatypes as character
    
    tag as character
    There are many other internal attributes related to gadgets and formgrids but that should satisfy your current requirements to load the UI from metadata that you define for a column.
    Last edited by barrymavin; 2018-11-04 at 03:26.
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  3. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    657
    Thanks very much Barry that will keep me busy for a while

  4. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    657
    Hi Barry,
    searchfield works but userselectablesearchfield does not seem to


    omd["formitem.searchfield"] = true
    omd["formitem.userselectablesearchfield"] = true

    This set search field to .T. in the UI but not user selectable search field

  5. #25
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    7,165
    Blog Entries
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by avianmanagement View Post
    Hi Barry,
    searchfield works but userselectablesearchfield does not seem to


    omd["formitem.searchfield"] = true
    omd["formitem.userselectablesearchfield"] = true

    This set search field to .T. in the UI but not user selectable search field
    That’s because it exceeds 32 characters which is the max length of a member name. I’ll add a synonym that removes field off the end.

  6. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    657
    Thank you.

  7. #27
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    7,165
    Blog Entries
    22
    I've added a synonym "userselectablesearch" for "userselectablesearchfield" in Lianja 5.0.
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  8. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    657
    Thanks Barry,

    I've written some code, quick and dirty, to get all the values out of my Xcase model and then it creates a prg that I can just run to set / alter the meta data.

    This is VERY powerful and make maintenance of the app so much easier. It's also what I'm used to after using Hanks Xcase2VPM. Just set in one place and it happens everywhere in the app, brilliant.

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Journey into the Cloud
Join us