Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 42

Thread: Newbie web app developer: data validation

  1. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Rome - Italy
    Posts
    1,893
    Quote Originally Posted by yvonne.milne View Post
    Hi Fabio,

    Yes, it does. Put it in the field's validation attribute as you said you were doing in your test App.

    Regards,

    Yvonne
    but I want to insert the validate on the section formitem... not in the table column...

  2. #22
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    7,165
    Blog Entries
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by phabio View Post
    Hi Barry,
    this is to use a custom validate code.
    for example:
    you're insert a sales order for cusromer "WILMK"; this code it's right.. but the customer are suspended cause have a not payed invoice..
    Yes I have a good idea what validation is used for.

    What I was trying to explain to you is that Lianja.evaluate() has no clue what {} is.

    When you specify {} in the validation expression for a formitem, the framework knows what formitem is associated with {} and it can then substitute the current input text value.

    {} is primarily used to substitute the current value associated with a UI element. In certain cases e,g Data Mapping on the server it is used to substitute current table.column value.
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  3. #23
    Lianja Team yvonne.milne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    1,842
    Yes, that's what I meant. Put it in the validation attribute for the field in the Form Section.

  4. #24
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    7,165
    Blog Entries
    22
    You are getting yourself really confused. You asked about how to do this using keylookup() which my response was replying to then you did it using Lianja.evaluate()... different code.
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  5. #25
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    7,165
    Blog Entries
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by phabio View Post
    i've updated the Validate:
    Lianja.evaluate("mylib::mylibproc('\'{}'\')")

    but I got the error:
    mar giu 12 16:24:40 2018
    **** Lianja error ****
    mylibproc('\'WILML'\')
    ^
    ')' was expected

    mar giu 12 16:24:40 2018
    **** Lianja error ****
    Lianja.evaluate("mylib::mylibproc('\'WILML'\')")
    ^
    METHOD 'EVALUATE' not found
    Why are you escaping this with Lianja.evaluate()? Nobody told you to do that.
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  6. #26
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    7,165
    Blog Entries
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by barrymavin View Post
    Why are you escaping this with Lianja.evaluate()? Nobody told you to do that.
    Apart from that the last quote is mistyped.
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  7. #27
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Rome - Italy
    Posts
    1,893
    Yes Barry, true...
    but the subject is: DataValidation.. :-)

    in the first, I've try with rlookup, keylookup.. sqllookup..

    then, I've thinked about a more complex test.. and now the reale focus is on the
    Lianja.evaluate("mylib::mylibproc('\'{}'\')")

    if is possible.. good.
    else.. I need to found other way.. or back to desktop App.. :-(

  8. #28
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    7,165
    Blog Entries
    22
    Try reading the replies and following what is said.

    Don’t imply validation doesn’t work in web apps. That’s just not the case. You are struggling to get the javascript syntax right with substitution of values that get executed in the server.

    Furthermore you asked on tickets, were replied to then proceeded to have real time response on the forums at 9:30pm my local time.

    As usual I will put a small example together for you that you can copy and study. Tomorrow.
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  9. #29
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Rome - Italy
    Posts
    1,893
    thanks
    Fabio

  10. #30
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Rome - Italy
    Posts
    1,893
    My goal is:
    use a Web App as a front end, with a minumum JavaScript code and delegate to a server Lianja/VFP procedure all the code..

    If possible.. :-)

    thanks
    Fabio

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Journey into the Cloud
Join us