Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: python imports and deployment

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    25

    python imports and deployment

    Hi,

    Just wondering how python imports work when deploying desktop apps? I assume I have to put the imported .py and .pyd files somewhere on the client system in a similar place to where I have them on the dev system. I've tried putting them in the same place (lianja/scriptinglanguages/python) and in cloudserver/scriptingilanguages/python.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    7,165
    Blog Entries
    22
    The deployment path for Python modules is:

    C:\lianja\cloudserver\scriptinglanguages\python\

    The development path for Python modules is:

    C:\lianja\scriptinglanguages\python\

    Last edited by barrymavin; 2016-01-07 at 23:38.
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    25
    Thanks Barry.

  4. #4
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    7,165
    Blog Entries
    22
    The deployment path for Python modules is:

    C:\lianja\cloudserver\scriptinglanguages\python\

    The development path for Python modules is:

    C:\lianja\scriptinglanguages\python\
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    25
    Hi Barry,

    Thanks for the reply. I have the module in that deployment folder (.py in the Lib folder and .pyd in the DLLs folder) yet the app still breaks on the "import xyz" line in my app when not run through the app builder. Is there something extra I should be doing to deploy properly? I just followed the instructions on http://www.lianja.com/doc/index.php/...ps_for_Windows and then added a part that places the module in the correct location to the installer (that part works fine).

  6. #6
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    7,165
    Blog Entries
    22
    Hi Joanna

    I've looked in our code and that's the path being used. The drive letter where the exe is run from is prefixed onto it and replaces C:

    After deploying look in file explorer and make sure the files are indeed in the place you expect them to be.
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  7. #7
    Lianja Team yvonne.milne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    1,842
    Hi Joanna,

    Also check that any modules required by your xyz module are also installed on the deployment target machine.

    cf: http://www.lianja.com/community/show...ull=1#post7908

    Regards,

    Yvonne

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Journey into the Cloud
Join us